Witnessing to a child

Standard

Last night I had the privilege of having two more of my grandsons at my house for dinner. Their parents had to take their other son to Houston for a neurology appt, FINALLY!! Thank God!

Anyway, I wasn’t feeling really well, so I went to lay down after Pawpaw got home. These boys are really good boys. They listen, play well, and the don’t argue with me unless they know I am playing with them. It’s been a while since I’ve had either of them over for very long at a time and I have to tell you, it was such a blessing!

Tyler is my 7 year old grandson. He is our first grandchild and we have spoiled him ROTTEN!! But, once the others started coming along, we had to stop spoiling him and start SPOILING THEM ALL!!! LOL Actually, Tyler is an exceptional child. His mom started with him as an infant, reading to him, teaching him colors, letters, how to write his name, all things that most kids don’t get until they get into school. Well Tyler is an exception to that and I am so thankful to his mother for that!

He is such a super smart kid that I have to remind myself sometimes that he is still only 7! Like last night, for example. His homework consisted of having to read a small book from school. So I told him since I didn’t feel well and was going to lay down, he could bring his homework into my room and work on it and I would help him. I didn’t realize yet that all he had to do was some reading, but that wouldn’t have changed anything. So Tyler crawls up onto my big bed and starts reading this book to me. He only had to ask for help twice with a word, and then all I had to do was remind him to sound it out.

Once he finished his assigned reading, he wanted to read some more. Well, I had my Bible nearby so I started to show him something about my Bible, and came across the page that I had written the date I was baptized and rededicated my life on. When I was telling him about that page, Tyler told me he wanted to be baptized but he was scared. He said he was afraid the water would be too deep. I assured him that there was something in the baptistry for him to stand on so his head would be above water until it was meant to go under! He was relieve of this. Well, my daughter, his mom, had told me that he has been asking questions about baptism, Jesus, and lots of other things so  I asked him why he wanted to be baptized. His reply was “I don’t know, I just do”. Immediately I thought of what a wonderful witnessing opportunity this was going to be with my own grandson!!

Well, I started asking him questions to find out just how much he knew and understood about salvation. As he would try to tell me his understanding, or just indicated that he didn’t know what something meant, I would explain it to him. Thank you Lord for being with us and helping me to use the right words to help him understand some things a little better. We talked about sin, repentance, and how Jesus died on the cross to save us from our sin so that we could live eternally with God and wouldn’t have to go live in hell with satan. I also explained to him that hell was an actual place and not just a word that some people use to curse. He told me he knew that. Thankfully, I had a book mark that basically explains the way to salvation, but it was a bit long and it was worded for adults. There are a lot of words that a 7 year old may be familiar with, and thinks he understands, but usually his understanding was not quite right.

I explained to him how God loved us so much and wanted to provide a way for us to be forgiven of our sins, so He sent His only son, Jesus, to pay the price for our sins. I showed him Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God”. We talked about the fact that EVERYONE is a sinner, at which time Tyler told me, “Except God”.  Then I showed him Romans 6:23, “For the wages of sin is death; but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord”. This gave me the chance to explain to him that this meant wages=punishment and the punishment for sin (doing bad things that God tells us not to do) was death, which lead to the explanation of being saved. We talked about confession of sin and repentance. I explained to him that no one is perfect and we all sin, even after we have been saved.  We talked about faith and then I had him read a sample prayer. I could tell he didn’t really fully understand what all I was telling him about, so I told him to read his Bible at home and when he was ready, we would talk about it some more, and if he had any questions, he could either ask me, or his mom and dad, or his Sunday School teacher.

We also talked about prayer just a little bit. Once the spaghetti was done it was kind of hard to keep his attention, LOL!  I did get the chance to ask him if he knew what prayer was which he told me was when you talk to God.

If you are reading this, please “talk to God” for Tyler. He is right at the edge of understanding salvation and I am so ready to see him saved! I want his mom and dad to see what a wonderful feeling it is when you see your child accept Jesus and then the baptism. There is no better feeling to me than to know that your children have been saved and would be spending eternity with you in Heaven!!

About jlhall1107

The most important thing to know about me is that I love the Lord Jesus Christ. I am a Christian first and foremost. Everything else is just icing on the cake! If you don't know Jesus, please ask. I'll be happy to introduce you!! I am wife to Gerald x 30+ years, mother of 4, grandmother of 8. I have many hobbies and when I decide I want to 'try' something new, I always jump in with both feet!! I love to crochet, scrapbook, make cards, garden (especially flowers). I raise chickens. The hubs and I are parents to two weenie dogs, one lab, and one very moody siamese-ish cat. I also love to write, always have. I won an award for news writing in high school but did not pursue it, which I should have done! I have had a few articles published and there is no greater feeling than to know that some of your work has been read nationally! I am a Scentsy consultant!! I am pushing the wax and warmers, laundry items, and household cleaner on everyone I possibly can! Why? Because I LOVE these products!! They are so much safer than burning candles. The wax is not burned, it is warmed and remains at a cool enough temperature that you, or your child, your pet, etc., can put a finger or whatever into the melted wax and it does not burn. And the scents are to DIE FOR!! If you are interested in checking out my website, it's www.wickfreechickadee.scentsy.us Let me know how I can help you! Well, that about sums it up so if you have any questions, please just ask! Doesn't mean I will answer them, but doesn't hurt to ask!!

Leave a Reply

